Mutant Cocktails #2: Cream Sherry Flip

Well. I’m drinking a cocktail I just made and despite being both a biologist and a budding statistician, I think I may contract salmonella tonight (around 1/20,000 chance). Oh well. At least I’ll have a blog post to show for it.

I got through the first hurdle of my grad school qualifying exam today! So to celebrate, I opened up a bottle of sherry I got recently (the cheap stuff, but hush, it’s my first time) and decided pretty soon after pouring off a taster size portion into my wine glass that 1) port is better and 2) maybe I should’ve spent more than $4.49 on the sherry. Now what to do with a whole bottle that I don’t particularly want to drink from again. I’ll definitely cook with it a bit, but I figured it wouldn’t hurt to make cocktails out of the stuff too. A quick Google search tells me that Cream Sherry Flips are the most common cocktail made with cream sherry… but it involves an egg.

Cream Sherry Flip

2½ oz Cream Sherry
2 tsp Table Cream
1 tsp Simple Syrup (2:1)
1 Fresh Egg
Nutmeg

Instructions: In a cocktail shaker combine sherry, cream simple syrup and an egg. Shake vigorously (or use a stick blender) for 30 seconds. Add ice and shake again for 30 more seconds. Strain in to a mug or coffee cup and sprinkle with nutmeg.

img_4626.jpg

An egg? What kind of egg? Egg white? Egg yolk? Well, what the hell, I figure. *smashes a whole egg and puts it in*. I don’t have a cocktail shaker (what kind of cocktail aficionado are you?! … uh, well, not one… yet!!), so I use appropriately sized tupperware (one that doesn’t smell like yesterday’s lunch of bacon with… mrm… bacon cocktails…). I never have cream lying around the house, so I use some hazelnut CoffeeMate as-artificial-as-it-gets creamer. I figure the creamer will make it sweet enough that the simple syrup isn’t needed. And you can never have enough cinnamon & nutmeg right? So I put the whole mess together in the tupperware with a couple cubes of ice, scramble the eggs a bit with a fork, and then shake as vigorously as I can. The tupperware, unfortunately, objects to this treatment, and protests by spurting out little bits of alcoholic dead chick embryo all over my dinner table. But damn, is the drink starting to look pretty and smell pretty good, even in Gladware.

img_4631.jpg

I pour the concoction into a wine glass… look at the ominous coloration floating on the surface… and take a deep sip. And it’s good! It’s delicioso! Mrm, I can taste the sherry, the nutmeg, the cinnamon, and the egg brings the whole monstrous mix into something creamy and smooth in texture. I’m about halfway through the glass as I’m idly going through the same site I found the cream sherry flip recipe from and found an article on Egg Whites & Cocktails… and realise that I was probably not supposed to use the whole egg — just the egg white.

cimg_4642.jpg

So now I’m sitting here, wine glass empty (well I have to finish what I begin…) and a stomach probably full of happy salmonella bacteriums. And the power of suggestion is playing tricks on my mind. I feel my ribs contracting, a slimey sort of phelgm at the back of my throat, and I can almost see my weary innate immunity cells coming out with their old battle armor on, saying, “what the hell did she try eating this time.”

But it’ll be fine I’m sure. At least the Cream Sherry Flip was awesome — will definitely make again (with perhaps, just the egg white. Maybe even pasteurized egg whites. Supposedly you can find powdered egg whites). Or maybe I’ll just use the whole egg again. After all, if I’m not dead from eating “sashimi” from defrosted Costco packs of salmon, then I’m pretty much invincible, right?

P.S. Don’t try this at home kids, and if you do, you saw the recipe on a different site.

img_4634.jpg

This is what death looks like. Its got specks of nutmeg on top.

One Response

  1. This topic is quite hot in the net right now. What do you pay the most attention to while choosing what to write ?

Leave a Reply

